The Belluschi Pavilion, a mid-century modern house moved to the Marylhurst campus, was featured in the fall 2015 issue of Preservation Magazine.
Excerpt from an article in The Portland Tribune, October 1, 2012.
A rare gem is being preserved at Marylhurst University.
The groundbreaking ceremony for the reconstruction of the historic Belluschi House was held on the Marylhurst campus Sept. 11.
The small house was originally constructed for the Griffith family on Iron Mountain Road in 1951 and was one of only three buildings designed by the great architect Pietro Belluschi in the Lake Oswego area. That number has been reduced to two because the Our Lady of the Lake School was torn down to make way for a new school that opened just a couple of weeks ago.
"It's a really neat project," said Judi Johansen, president of Marylhurst University. "It will be a great venue for receptions and classes. It will fit in so well with our curriculums for interior design, art and cultural studies. By preserving this great little building, it helps Marylhurst University really be part of this community."
The completion of the project is tentatively scheduled for next summer. At that time there will be another party to celebrate the Belluschi House.
Born in Italy, Pietro Belluschi was involved in the design of an estimated 1,000 buildings, including the Portland Art Museum, the Julliard School of Music in New York City and St. Mary's Cathedral in San Francisco. He also is credited as being a contributor to an architectural style known as Pacific Northwest Regionalism.